Walk It Out – How Walking Can Help You Reach Your Fitness Goals

LululemonLululemonLululemonLululemonLululemonLululemonLululemonLululemonLululemonOutfit Details – White Jacket: Similar | White Top: Lululemon |Black Leggings: Lululemon | Ray Bans: Nordstrom | Nike Shoes: Macy’s (similar & love)


While we were in New York, Colton and I ate more bread than I think I have eaten in the past year. Like, one day I literally only ate bread. Me!!!

I swear, It was an entire day of carbs. 

I wasn’t hating on it though, because not only were we on vacation and living it up, but also because we were walking more than we ate. I’m talking 20,000+ steps a day. 

We did the exact same thing in Europe last summer. We had two weeks of eating pizza and drinking wine in Italy and I didn’t gain a pound thanks to walking. Did I lose muscle tone? Well that’s a different story, but we will get to that in a second. 

I think that walking is so incredibly underrated. Living in Houston, we literally drive everywhere and if I didn’t make a conscious effort to walk as much as I do, I do not think I would be in the shape that I am in. 

A few months ago, after losing my Fitbit, I noticed I was gaining weight. I was still doing my BBG program and I was eating exactly the same, so I wasn’t sure why I was gaining weight? Needless to say, I quickly realized it was due to the fact that I wasn’t walking. I would go to work, complete my BBG program in 30 minutes and then go back to work then drive home. I was probably walking less than 1 mile a day and I could definitely see it. Around Thanksgiving, Colton bought me an Apple Watch and I started tracking my steps again. After a week and a half of hitting 10,000 steps a day + my program, I was able to lose the weight I had put on. Just by making a conscious effort to walk! I wasn’t running vigorously every day or killing myself in cardio, I just started walking more. 

So how am I hitting my steps everyday? 

  1. Taking the stairs and never the elevator.  
  2. Walking Bentley around the block every morning & night. 
  3. Running 3 miles twice a week. 
  4. Parking in the back of the parking lot at the grocery store. 
  5. Walking on an incline for 15 minutes after every BBG workout. 
  6. Walking, instead of driving to places less that .25 miles from my house. 
  7. Investing in a fitness tracker. I recommend either an Apple Watch or a Fit Bit

All of these things help me to lose the little bit of weight I had put on. 

Is walking going to solve all of your problems? No, it’s not. 

It’s simply a great addition to be included in your healthy lifestyle.  Working out, lifting weights and eating clean is still key! Walking just may help you lose those last 5 lbs you’ve been struggling with.

What do you guys think about this? 

xo,

Lauren 

SHOP MY OUTFIT

white-jacket lw3angs_0002_1 leggings screen-shot-2017-02-28-at-8-26-50-pm

4 thoughts on “Walk It Out – How Walking Can Help You Reach Your Fitness Goals

  1. When I lived on campus I was doing so much walking to class, now that I live off campus I definitely need to start walking more! Definitely using these tips 🙂

    xoxo,
    Lauren Lindmark
    dailydoseofcharm.com

    Like

  2. This. Once I got an office job I gained 5 lbs from doing nothing different in my life other than the 8+ hours I found myself sitting on my butt! I love that my apple watch reminds me to get up and walk around! I try and get up every hour to do at least one lap around my office. Thanks for the tips!

    Like

Leave a Reply

